Indian History – Quiz 9

Q1. What is the correct order of the Indian states annexed by the British?
(a) Sikhs, Bengal, Marathas, Mysore
(b) Bengal, Mysore, Marathas, Sikhs
(c) Bengal, Marathas, Mysore, Sikhs
(d) Mysore, Bengal, Marathas, Sikhs
Q2. Under which of the following states was Hyder Ali serving as a Faujdar when he consolidated his position?
(a) Budikota
(b) Dindigul
(c) Arcot
(d) Devanhalli
Q3. Who a founded Jocobin club at Srirangapattanam in 1797?
(a) Napoleon
(b) Tyder Ali
(c) Tipu Sultan
(d) Col. Bussey
Q4. During which wars were the battles of Mangalore, Parambakkam and Parto Nove fought?
(a) Fourth Anglo-Mysore war
(b) First Anglo-Mysore war
(c) Third Anglo-Mysore was
(d) Second Anglo-Mysore was
Q5. Which of the following trading company was granted territorial concessions by Muzaffar Jung, the Nizam of Hyderabad?
(a) French
(b) English
(c) Portuguese
(d) Dutch
Q6. What was the reason for Siraj-ud-Daulah to lose his Mansad?
(a) He had a very weak army
(b) His enemies conspired against him at home
(c) He could not control widespread economic distress
(d) He followed a very rigid religious policy
Q7. Which of the following made a confederation against Tipu Sultan in the Third Mysore War?
(a) the English, the Marathas and the Nizam
(b) the Marathas, the English and the Nawab of Carnatic
(c) the Nizam, the Nawab of Carnatic and the English
(d) the Raja of Travancore, the Marathas and the English
Q8. Which of the following native states was the first to introduce military training based on the European model?
(a) Punjab
(b) Mysore
(c) Golconda
(d) Kashmir
Q9. Who founded the sovereign kingdom of Avadh?
(a) Nizam ul Mulk
(b) Saadat Khan Burhan-ul-Mulk
(c) Safdarjung
(d) Quli Qutub Shah
Q10. What led to the war between Mir Qasim and the East India Company?
(a) The dispute over the realization of revenue
(b) The dispute over the jurisdiction of courts
(c) Their dispute over the strength of armed forces
(d) Factional in-fighting in the camp of East India Company
Q11. Which Mughal ruler drove away the Portuguese from Hughli?
(a) Akbar
(b) Shah Jahan
(c) Jahangir
(d) Aurangzeb
Q12. Who were the signatories of the Treaty of Mangalore?
(a) The English East India Company and Tipu Sultan
(b) The English East India Company and the Marathas
(c) Hyder Ali and the English East India Company
(d) The French East India Company and Tipu Sultan
Q13. Whom did the English defeat in the battle of Buxar?
(a) Mir Kasim
(b) Siraj-ud-Daulah
(c) Shujauddin
(d) Mir Jaffar
Q14. Which of the following act was passed by the British Parliament to end the monopoly of East India Company’s trade in India?
(a) Regulating Act, 1783
(b) Charter Act, 1863
(c) Charter Act, 1813
(d) Government of India Act, 1853
Q15. Brahmo Samaj was founded by Raja Ram Mohan Roy in the year
(a) 1828
(b) 1829
(c) 1826
(d) 1827
1. Ans.(b)
2. Ans.(b)
3. Ans.(c)
4. Ans.(d)
5. Ans.(a)
6. Ans.(b)
7. Ans.(a)
8. Ans.(b)
9. Ans.(b)
10. Ans.(a)
11. Ans.(b)
12. Ans.(a)
13. Ans.(a)
14. Ans.(c)
15. Ans.(a)